Back in the 1150’s the Knights Templar built their chief house and church in what is now called Temple Scotland.

After the the Knights Templar were disbanded the church and lands were taken over by the Knights Hospitallers, also called the Knights of St. John.

The ruins of this old parish church, which date back to the 14th century, are all that’s left on the land that once held the knights church.

2441

Here is a sign discussing the Knights Templar and a bit of the local history.

2445

A few of the interesting grave stones found in around the old Church

 2467 2470

This is an interesting one for Sir William Gillies.

2464

Advertisements